Volunteer Now - News

Skip Navigation

The Adult Safeguarding Champion (ASC): Are You Ready?

16 December 2016

FREE Information and training for management in community, voluntary, faith and independent sector organisations and groups.

  1. ASC Information Roadshows
    Under “Adult Safeguarding: Prevention and Protection in Partnership” (2015) and the new “Adult Safeguarding Operational Procedures” (2016), all organisations or groups with volunteers or staff who require vetting at any level under the Safeguarding Vulnerable Groups (Northern Ireland) Order 2007 are required to have an Adult Safeguarding Champion (ASC). 

    Funded by the Health & Social Care Board and in partnership with the Local Adult Safeguarding Partnerships, Volunteer Now will be delivering these sessions to help you to:
    • Ensure that your organisation, staff and volunteers have the key information about the new ASC role.
    • Assess your current arrangements and plan for ASC requirements.
    • Identify additional training needs under the new arrangements.
    Thursday 12 January, 10.30am-1pm - Dungannon - Book here
    Friday 13 January, 10.30am-1pm - Ballymoney - Book here
    Friday 20 January, 10.30am-1pm - Belfast - Book here
    Wednesday 1 February, 10.30am-1pm - Downpatrick - Book here
    Wednesday 8 February, 10.30am-1pm - Antrim - Book here
    Thursday 16 February, 10.30am-1pm - Armagh - Book here
    Wednesday 1 March, 10.30am-1pm - Downpatrick - Book here
    Tuesday 7 March, 2pm-4.30pm - Belfast - Book here
    ** Dates coming soon in the Western Trust area **
    ** Please book a session within your Trust area **

  2. Additional Dates - Keeping Adults Safe: Training for Managers, Supervisors and Management Committee Members
    This one day certificated training course is designed for individuals who manage or supervise staff and volunteers working with adults at risk of harm. It is also suitable for those with governance responsibilities in organisations that provide services for adults at risk.

    Thursday 12 January, 9.30am-4.30pm - Craigavon - Book here
    Tuesday 24 January, 9.30am-4.30pm - Antrim - Book here
    Wednesday 15 February, 9.30am-4.30pm - Downpatrick - Book here
    Tuesday 21 March, 9.30am-4.30pm - Belfast - Book here
    Thursday 16 March, 9.30am-4.30pm - Armagh - Book here
    Friday 24 March, 9.30am-4.30pm - Antrim - Book here

    ** Dates coming soon in the Western Trust area **
    ** Please book a session within your Trust area **

  3. Adult Safeguarding Champion: Skills - Full day training
    This is a free day's training for Adult Safeguarding Champion (ASC) role combines responsiblity for strategy, operations and oversight for an organistion in relation to adults at risk of harm under 'Adult Safeguarding: Prevention and Protection in Partnership' (2015) and the 'Adult Safeguarding Operational Procedures' (2016).

    Thursday 6 April, 9.30am-4.30pm - Armagh - Book here
    Friday 7 April, 9.30am-4.30pm - Antrim - Book here
    Tuesday 11 April, 9.30am-4.30pm - Belfast - Book here
    Wednesday 12 April, 9.30am-4.30pm - Downpatrick - Book here
    Monday 24 April, 9.30am-4.30pm - Omagh - Book here